More Hurricane Michael and Florence Victims Get Tax Relief (IR-2018-202)

More Hurricane Michael and Florence victims get tax relief from the IRS. The IRS is offering this relief to any area designated by FEMA as qualifying for individual assistance.

Currently, the Michael and Florence disaster areas includes parts of:

  • Florida,
  • Georgia,
  • North Carolina,
  • South Carolina, and
  • Virginia.

The current list of eligible localities is available on the IRS’s disaster relief page. Taxpayers in localities added later to the disaster area, including those in other states, will automatically receive the same filing and payment relief.

Hurricane Michael, Florence Victims Tax Relief

For Hurricane Michael victims, the relief applies to original and extended due dates that occurred on or after October 7, 2018, and before February 28, 2019.

For Florence victims, the relief applies to deadlines that occurred on or after September 7, 2018, and before January 31, 2019.

Individuals and businesses in the disaster areas have additional time to:

  • file returns,
  • pay taxes, and
  • perform certain other time-sensitive acts.

Taxpayers in the listed counties for both hurricanes will receive extensions automatically. The IRS will work with people located outside the counties currently listed by FEMA, who were impacted by the disaster. Finally, the IRS will be updating as any additional counties receive major disaster declaration designations from FEMA, either for individual or public assistance.


Login to read more tax news on CCH® AnswerConnect or CCH® Intelliconnect®.

Not a subscriber? Sign up for a free trial or contact us for a representative.



All stories by: CCHTaxGroup