South Carolina Tax Penalties Waived for Florence Victims

South Carolina will provide state tax relief for taxpayers in counties affected by Hurricane Florence.

Penalties Waived for Late Filings and Payments

Penalties assessed against taxpayers for late filings and payments on or after September 8, 2018 through January 31, 2019 will be waived. The waiver also applies to taxpayers with an extension that runs out on October 15, 2018. Quarterly estimated income tax payments due September 17, 2018 and January 15, 2019 are also eligible for the penalty waiver.

Affected Counties

Counties affected include:

– Chesterfield;

– Darlington;

– Dillon;

– Florence;

– Georgetown;

– Horry;

– Marion; and

– Marlboro

How to Request Relief

To request relief, taxpayers should or submit Form C-672, “Disaster Relief,” or a letter that provides the same information, to request disaster relief or a penalty abatement.

– call the South Carolina Department of Revenue at 1-844-898-8542;

– submit Form C-672, Disaster Relief; or

– submit a letter with the same information as needed to complete Form C-672.

The e-mail of the department is The mailing address is:

– SC Department of Revenue

– Attn: Disaster Tax Relief

– PO Box 125

– Columbia, SC 29214-0802

Property tax questions should be directed to the county government in which the property is located.

Information Letter 18-13, South Carolina Department of Revenue, October 3, 2018, ¶400-918

Login to read more tax news on CCH® AnswerConnect or CCH® Intelliconnect®.

Not a subscriber? Sign up for a free trial or contact us for a representative.



All stories by: CCHTaxGroup