Maine Enacts Marijuana Taxes

The Maine Legislature has cleared the way for taxing sales of recreational marijuana in the state. The Legislature overrode Gov. LePage’s veto of a bill that would legalize and marijuana sales.

The state must now adopt rules to implement, administer, and enforce sales of adult use marijuana.

Maine Sales Tax on Marijuana

The sales tax is 10% on the value of adult use marijuana and adult use marijuana products. The 10% tax on retail marijuana and retail marijuana products is repealed.

Maine Marijuana Excise Tax

The legislation imposes an excise tax and a sales tax beginning on the first day of the calendar month in which marijuana may be sold.

The excise tax on marijuana sold to other licensees is:

  • $335 per pound of marijuana flower or mature marijuana plants;
  • $94 per pound of marijuana trim;
  • $1.50 per immature marijuana plant or seedling; and
  • $0.30 per marijuana seed.

The tax must be paid on the last day of the month following the month of sales.


L.D. 1719 (H.P. 1199), Laws 2018, effective May 2, 2018

Login to read more tax news on CCH® AnswerConnect or CCH® Intelliconnect®.

Not a subscriber? Sign up for a free trial or contact us for a representative.



All stories by: CCHTaxGroup